Skip to main content
Close

MRA Offices Closed September 19 to Allow the Staff to Volunteer at the Habitat for Humanity Main Street, Malden Build. Our Offices Will Reopen at 8 AM September 20, 2019

NSC Member Communities

Malden is the lead or “representative” community of an eight-community jurisdiction known as the North Suburban Consortium (NSC).  The NSC is comprised of the contiguous communities of Malden, Medford, Arlington, Melrose, Chelsea, Everett, Revere and Winthrop that have signed a cooperative agreement to gain access to U.S. Department of Housing & Urban Development (HUD) HOME Program funds – the annual Federal block grant that funds the NSC HOME Program and which is dedicated to the rehabilitation, creation and preservation of affordable housing.

Since 1991, the Malden Redevelopment Authority (MRA) has carried out lead community responsibilities.  The MRA administers affordable housing programs for the NSC and actively seeks affordable housing opportunities in NSC member communities that can be partnered with NSC HOME funds. The other agencies responsible for administering the NSC's programs include the Housing and Community Development Departments of member communities and other city departments, as applicable. Local Community Action Program (CAP) agencies and various non-profit organizations involved in affordable housing development, services for the homeless, elderly, disabled, substance abuse victims and victims of domestic violence also play an important role in assisting NSC member communities in creating and maintaining affordable housing.

MRA NSC Contact

James Barnes, HOME Director
Malden Redevelopment Authority
17 Pleasant Street, Third Floor, Malden, MA  02148
781-324-5720 x 5729
jbarnes@maldenredevelopment.com

Community Representatives

Malden
Alex Pratt, Community Development Director
Malden Redevelopment Authority
17 Pleasant Street, Third Floor, Malden, MA  02148
781-324-5720 x5728
apratt@maldenredevelopment.com
 

Medford
Ashley Williams, CDBG Administrator
Office of Planning & Community Development
City Hall, 85 George P. Hassett Drive, Room 308, Medford, MA 02155
781-393-2480
awilliams@medford.org
 

Arlington
Erin Zwirko, Assistant Director
Planning and Community Development
Town Hall, 730 Massachusetts Ave. Annex, Arlington, MA 02476
781-316-3092
ezwirko@town.arlington.ma.us
 

Melrose
Emma Schnur, Senior Planner
Office of Planning & Community Development
City Hall, 562 Main Street, Melrose, MA 02176
781-979-4193
eschnur@cityofmelrose.org
 

Chelsea
Alex Train, Assistant Director
Department of Planning & Development
City Hall, 500 Broadway, Room 101, Chelsea, MA 02150
617-466-4187
atrain@chelseama.gov


Everett
Michael Vivaldi, Senior Planner
Office of Community Development
City Hall, 484 Broadway, Everett, MA 02149
617-944-0236
michael.vivaldi@ci.everett.ma.us
 

Revere
Bethany Rosa, Community Development Program Manager
Planning & Community Development
City Hall, 281 Broadway, Revere, MA 02151
781-286-8112
brosa@revere.org
 

Winthrop
Tanji Cifuni, Community Development/Project Manager
Town Hall, One Metcalf Square, Room 2A, Winthrop, MA 02152
617-892-2624
tcifuni@town.winthrop.ma.us