Skip to main content

MRA Offices remain closed to the public. Staff are working Mon. through Thurs., 8 am to 4 pm and Fri. 8 am to 12 pm. Contact Main Office, 17 Pleasant St. (781-324-5720 x 0) or Healthy Homes Office, 176 Pearl St. (781-397-1940)

MRA Names New Officers

Thursday, January 21, 2016

Malden resident Amanda M. Linehan has been elected Chairman of the Malden Redevelopment Authority Board of Directors.  She will serve a one-year term through the end of December 2016.


The five-member board, four of whom are appointed by the Mayor and confirmed by the Malden City Council and one of whom is appointed by the Governor, elects officers annually on a rotating basis. The other Board members and their new titles are as follows: Robert D. Rotondi, Vice Chairman, Albert N. Spadafora, Treasurer, Atty. Michael Williams, Assistant Treasurer, and Robert Foley, Assistant Secretary.


Ms. Linehan, a former editor and reporter, is the communications manager for the Metropolitan Area Planning Council. Mr. Rotondi, a retired inspector for the Malden Housing Authority and member of the MRA Board since 1997, is known by most in Malden as "Mr. Baseball" for his longtime service to the Malden Babe Ruth League. Mr. Spadafora, who has owned and operated Anthony's Restaurant in Malden for more than 45 years, has been a member of the Everett Credit Union for 25 years of which he is now President and Chairman of the Board. Atty. Williams, the newest member of the MRA board, who serves as the Governor's appointee, is a member of the litigation section at Lawson & Weitzen, LLP of Boston.  Mr. Foley, the immediate past MRA Chairman of the Board, is a Certified Public Accountant with an office in Malden.


The five-member MRA Board holds meetings the third Tuesday of each month at 5:30 p.m at the MRA offices, Room 621, Malden Government Center, 200 Pleasant St. The meetings are open to the public. Deborah Burke serves as the Executive Director of the MRA.


The MRA is a quasi public agency--separate and distinct from the City--that was created by an act of the state legislature in 1958.